Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University

Walton Lecture

Annual fall event

About the series

The Walton Lecture brings a distinguished leader in the insurance and risk management field to campus to share professional perspectives with students. The lecture is hosted by the WSU College of Business’ Department of Finance and Management Science and made possible through an endowment from the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of Washington. The endowment honors Max Walton, the group’s past president.

2022 Event:

Planes, Ships, Cyber, and Internships
Managing Business Risk at the Port of Seattle


David Soike
Chief Operating Officer
Port of Seattle

Jeff Hollingsworth
Director of Risk Management
Port of Seattle

Date: Monday, October 10, 2022
Time: 5 p.m.
Location: TBD

2022 Event:

2021 Event

Past speakers

2021: Nathan Mallory, Director – Risk Management and Insurance – The Americas, Expeditors
2020: Steven L. Patterson, J.D, President & CEO, Oregon Mutual Insurance Company
2018: Bob Brandkamp, Risk Manager, Avista Utilities
2018: Steve Legg, Director of Risk Management, Starbucks Coffee Co., CPCU, ARM
2017: Gregg Ness, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, StanCorp Financial Group, Inc. and Standard Insurance Company
2016: Brian Steffel, President and Chief Executive Officer, Oregon Mutual Insurance Group
2015: Thomas Marra, President and Chief Executive Officer, Symetra Financial
2014: Dellanie Fragnoli, Assistant Vice President of Risk Management, Costco
2013: Molly Seaburg, Senior Risk Manager, Microsoft
2012: David Lavergne, President, Traveler’s Insurance, south central region
2011: Eric P. Nelson, President and Chief Executive Officer, Enumclaw Insurance Group
2010: Doyle J. Williams, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer, Country Financial
2009: Robert V. O’Brien Jr., Executive Vice President, Group Health Cooperative, Health Plan Division
2008: Mike Keyes, President and Chief Executive Officer, Oregon Mutual Insurance Company
2006: Stan McNaughton, Chief Executive Officer, PEMCO Insurance
2005: Harold Gray, Senior Vice President, State Farm Insurance Co., Pacific Northwest Zone
2004: Lance J. Ewing, Vice President, Caesar’s Entertainment
2003: Mike McGavick, Chair, President and Chief Executive Officer, SAFECO Insurance Co.


Department of Finance and Management Science

Sponsor a Carson College event

Events throughout the college can reach a wider audience with your support. Explore ways in which you could become an event sponsor.