Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University
Carson College of Business PhD In Business

PhD In Business

A Message from the PhD Director

Chuck Munson, professor of operations management, is the Ph.D. program director. During his 25 years on faculty in the college, he has regularly been a Dean’s Excellence Fellow for outstanding research, teaching, and service as well as a recipient of WSU’s highest teaching award. Prior to becoming director, Munson served as the Ph.D. coordinator for the operations and management science program for many years.

Read the Director’s Message

PhD Student Spotlight

Oscar Chi (’21 HBM), a newly minted assistant professor in tourism, hospitality, and event management at the University of Florida, has his sights set on advancing the use of artificial intelligence (AI) in the hospitality industry.

Read the Student Spotlight


PhD Coordinators

Accounting

Beau Barnes
Associate Professor
Todd Hall 242
beau.barnes@wsu.edu
509-335-8541

Finance

George Jiang
Professor
Todd Addition 480
george.jiang@wsu.edu
509-335-8727

Hospitality & Tourism

Jenny Kim
Professor
Todd Hall 331C
jennykim@wsu.edu
509-335-4706

Marketing

Betsy Howlett
Professor
Todd Hall 373
betsy.howlett@wsu.edu
509-335-4752

Management
 

Leah Sheppard
Associate Professor
Todd Hall 437D
leah.sheppard@wsu.edu
509-335-7112

Management Information Systems

Michelle Carter
Associate Professor
Todd 440D
michelle.carter@wsu.edu
509-335-6415

Operations & Management Science

Yixuan Xiao
Assistant Professor
Todd Hall 469
yixuan.xiao@wsu.edu
509-335-8727


Placements